Share to
July 8, 2016Posted on


Meet our board members who help steer the AO Alliance Foundation with their experience, expertise and dedication.



Rolf Jeker


Rolf Jeker is the Chair of the AO Alliance Foundation, CEO of the AO Foundation and Vice-Chair of the AO Foundation Board.

He previously served as Senior Executive Vice-President of Société Générale de Surveillance. He had also been an Ambassador and Under-Secretary of the Swiss Government for Foreign Economic Relations. For a considerable time, he headed the Swiss Foreign Economic Development Assistance Program and served as an Executive Director in the African Development Bank and Alternate Governor to the Asian, Inter-American and African Development. He has successfully headed economic missions to over 90 countries, particularly in emerging and low income countries, and countries in transition.

Dr Jeker holds a PhD in economics and business management from University of St Gallen, Switzerland, and an honorary doctorate from the International University Geneva.



Joachim Prein


Joachim Prein is a cranio-maxillo-facial surgeon as well as a dentist. Involved with the cranio-maxillo-facial clinical division of the AO Foundation (AOCMF), Dr Prein has authored many publications on cranio-maxillo-facial reconstructive and corrective bone surgery principles of internal fixation using AO/ASIF techniques.

He was Professor and Chairman for cranio-maxillo-facial surgery and reconstructive surgery at University Basel in Switzerland from 1986 until 2001. He became the President of AO International in 2005 and became involved with the former AO SEC in 2009. He was the last reigning Chair of the AO SEC committee until December 2014, providing continuity with the former AO SEC into the AO Alliance.

Dr Prein is an honorary trustee of the AO Foundation.


Portrait of Jean Daniel Gerber taken during an AO Alliance meeting, Davos, 2015

Jean-Daniel Gerber

Board member

Jean-Daniel Gerber currently chairs the Board of Swiss Investment fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) and is a board member of Lonza Group AG. He is also the chair of the Swiss Society for Public Good and the Association of “Swiss Sustainable Finance”.

Throughout his career in government service, he held key positions in trade, development co-operation, diplomacy, finance, migration and economics. He was previously Executive Director and Dean of the World Bank Board, and Director of the Federal Office for Migration at Switzerland’s Federal Department of Justice and Police. He became State Secretary and Director of Switzerland’s State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) in 2004 until his retirement from this post in 2011.

He received an honorary doctorate from the University of Berne. The maxim of Jean-Daniel is “Ut melius fiat” (turn it to the better).


Abdoulie Janneh_Board member

Abdoulie Janneh

Board member

Abdoulie Janneh is a former United Nations Under-Secretary General and Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). Since 2012, Abdoulie has served as Executive Director/Board Member at the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, and he is based in Dakar, Senegal.

Abdoulie successfully completed a seven-year tenure at the helm of the UNECA, an institution with the dual role of being the regional arm of the United Nations in Africa as well as a key Pan-African institution. During his leadership of the UNECA, Abdoulie took steps to strategically re-position the organization to better support Africa’s development agenda. He also serves on the Boards/Advisory Panels of a number of organizations involved in Africa’s development, including the Africa Forum of Former Heads of State and Government, and the African Governance Institute (AGI), among others. Abdoulie is the recipient of several awards and honors.


Manjul-JOSHIPURA_Board member

Manjul Joshipura

Board member

Manjul Joshipura is a Consultant Orthopedic and Trauma Surgeon, and Director of the Academy of Traumatology in India. Until January 2013, he led the trauma care program at the World Health Organization in Geneva and contributed to research, policy development, advocacy and WHO guidelines on for emergency, pre-hospital and trauma care. He pioneered structured education and QI efforts in trauma care in India and several other countries in Asia and Africa. He has been a consultant to the World Bank, Gates Foundation, NIH and several governments on trauma and emergency care. He is also incoming President of International Association of Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care.

Dr Joshipura graduated from Gujarat University and completed his higher surgical training in the UK. As an AO Alumnus, his completed his AOTrauma fellowship in Stedspital Triemeli, Zurich. He is a Rowan Nicks Scholar of Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Dr Joshipura has authored several publications and books on the care of the injured. He is on the international editorial board of Injury and serves on International Coordinating Council of Bone and Joint Decade.


Jaime-QUINTERO_Board member

Jaime Quintero

Board member

Jaime Quintero became President of the AO Foundation in 2012. He began his medical training in Bogotá, Colombia, and completed his residency in orthopedics and traumatology in Sao Paulo, Brazil, under the mentorship of Prof Jose Soares Hungria Neto, who had introduced AO philosophy and techniques in Brazil in the 1970s.

He acted as a liaison when one of the AO Founders, Prof Hans Willenegger, visited Sao Paolo in 1983. Prof Quintero subsequently completed an AOTrauma Fellowship in Augsburg, Germany, and formed a connection to the AO, which has evolved and grown throughout his career. He has been actively involved in AO teaching activities in his home country as well as in the rest of Latin America. He subsequently became one of the founders, and the first President of the AO Latin America region (AOLAT) in 1998.